Hausu (1977)

There’s this crazy Japanese horror movie Hausu made in 1977 by Nobuhiko Obayashi. Within the last year, it has gotten quite a reputation among horror film enthusiasts, hipsters, weirdoes and people who troll the internet looking for weird shit.

I had not heard of this movie. In fact, very, very few had. And when I saw the movie a week ago, I didn’t understand why…this…if anything…was a cult movie if I ever saw one. i keep my eyes turned to bootlegs, blogs about crazy movies, magazines, etc. and I had never heard of it until about a year ago. I guess this film was truly lost. Not lost the way Dennis Hopper’s “Last Movie” is lost…where people talk about it and if you look hard enough, you can find it. No, this was lost somewhere in time and space, perhaps fleeting back to the alternate dimension where it was made.

Anyway, my first experience with this movie was about a year ago, when somebody posted this clip on a web board I read. I immediately needed to see this film. And, just like that, Janus Films struck a new print, and it played at one of my favorite theaters, The New Beverly all last week!

That clip is just the tip of the iceberg. This movie is a level of pure weirdness that my brain cannot comprehend it. A bullet of sugar coated crack shot out of the screen and pierced my minds eye once and for all, rendering all motor functions useless. This film is impossible to describe, let alone discuss. But it must be seen. By all that is good and holy in the world…do yourself a favor and see this one. You’ll actually feel your sanity being flushed down the toilet while you sit there…and you will love every second of it!

Writing a review of this film is useless. You can’t describe the indescribable. All I can say is see it for yourself. Official website is HERE.

Leave a comment